Jake’s new bedroom

 

session 2_3

After putting it off for years I finally got over my fears and decided to create new bedrooms for my two eldest downstairs. I was a bit worried about them being by themselves down there but the whole sharing a room thing just wasn’t working anymore.

Jake’s bedroom was originally a kitchenette which was no use to us so we built a wall to create a decent size bedroom. The next step was to gyprock the walls, put new windows in, install carpet and built in wardrobes. The room only gets filtered afternoon light so I went with mirrored doors to bounce the light off and create more light.

session 2_11

Once the bedroom was built it was time to start the fun part decorating and choosing furniture. It was a must that it fit it into the rest of my home – “a little bit coastal with blues and timber”.

I chose to paint the walls two tone – the top half is Taubmans “miss universe” and the bottom half is “stormy shadow” and “silver mink” on the barn door that Aaron installed.

session 2_53

I had to think practical when it came to furniture choices. The room has two doors, an entry door and a door into the shared ensuite so this made things a little more challenging. For this reason we decided to design and build some of the furniture, the bench seat in corner and waterfall desk was custom built by Aaron and of course designed by me, just call me Mark Tuckey…not lol.

session 2_6

Aaron made the desk using a bench top from Bunnings and attached it the wall using brackets, he made it look easy so easy. Jake loves to save all his drawings and pictures of cars etc so I created a pin board wall using a sheet of felt pin board from bunnings and cut it to size. I decorated it with prints from Yorke Lee  and Happy Ella After and an etched timber times table print Foot Prints By Nature . The chair is a gumtree find that i painted using Taubmans “blue lava”

session 2_42

For the bed I went with the ikea Mandal bed which is no longer available, it has four good size draws on the sides which i have filled with lego and matchbox cars…this kid has a serious collection happening. To allow the draws to all open I used H and G Designs  suede leather bedside shelf, I am a huge fan of Hailey’s work so adding another piece to my home was a no brainer.

session 2_2

I think it’s the art and accessories that really make this room and I was lucky enough to have so many nice things given to me to include in the room.

Jane from Pick a Pear Creative designed and hand drew the whale prints, the detail in them is amazing. She kindly let me choose the colour of them to match the room, I couldn’t go past navy. After giving Jemma from Jemma Calavassay a brief description on the room design she was able to come up with a beautiful abstract piece, I love how it goes so well with all the other pieces in the room and looks a little bit like fish scales… don’t you think? The quirky “octobike” print from Carley Brady adds a bit fun and colour in the room, Jake thinks it’s the coolest thing ever. To add a bit of texture and shape to the walls I chose to add a leather anchor from Lux Baby Love with the words “ahoy” stamped into it.

session 2_34

Jake will be 7 this year so I still wanted it to feel like a kids room. The moon cushion from Piccolo Studio and pirate boat from Charlie and Jae add a bit of fun. There wasn’t much room for a bedside light so I chose to use The Wall Collective wall hooks with the Ikea light bulbs. The cotton bag from The Native State is perfect for Jake to throw his bits and pieces in.

session 2_24

session 2_27

The kids have so much fun playing with the alphabet board from Alpha Board Co i have a play every now and then too…

session 2_47

Let’s talk linen for a minute because this is probably my biggest addiction in life. I’m a real sucker for super soft linen so when i received a package from Little Things Interiors with a charcoal duvet cover i was in heaven, the jersey cotton is super soft. I almost stole it for myself. I teamed this with a Peshies  turkish towel throw,  Cotton and Thread button cushion and Sew Loved handmade doll.

I’m so happy with how Jake’s room turned out, Jake thinks it’s pretty special too. I’d love to hear what you think.

 

Anna

xx

 

2 thoughts on “Jake’s new bedroom

Leave a Reply

