CHRISTMAS IN THE MOORE HOUSEHOLD

Another Christmas has crept up on us again and it’s time to decorate the house and get into the Christmas spirit.

This year has been hectic with Jake starting school, me starting a new job and all the other craziness that comes along with three kids, so our tree went up a little later than normal. The kids didn’t let me forget though and loved helping to make some new decorations and the tree look pretty.

web-dsc02916

This year I went with a whole new look, I wanted everything to be natural and raw to go with the coastal look I have throughout the house. So off to pinterest I went, I found lots of cool ideas and had big plans to do a million DIY’s, but the closest I got was wooden log decorations which I have included instructions below on how I did it.

The only thing I had to buy for the new look was the hessian bows which I picked up from a discount shop, and the rest I had lying around. The tree consists off pinecones, starfish, feathers, wooden log decorations, wooden shapes and hessian bows. I spent a total of $10….bargain.

web-dsc02926

One thing I found super difficult was putting the tree into a basket, is there a trick to this? I have been wrestling with the tree since putting it up, then Aaron came to the rescue today with a solution, not sure if it’s 100% perfect but it will do for this year.

web-dsc02897

dsc02493

DIY Log Decorations.

These are simple to make and take no time at all.

 

What you need:

– wooden logs around 7cm in diameter

– string

– drill

– sander

– drop saw

– paint pen

How to:

Cut the log into 1.5cm pieces, you will get a few out of each log depending on the size of it.

Drill each decoration at the top to create a whole for the string to loop through.

Feed the string through the hole and tie a knot at the base of the decoration and another knot at the top to create a loop, this helps them to hang more straight.

Using a paint pen draw on your image or word I did snowflakes, trees, noel, love, merry, joy, snowmen and my kids initials.

A follower on instagram had a great idea of using the trunk of her tree once Christmas is over, I think this is a great idea, you could start a collection over the years.

 

Now that the house is ready for Christmas it looks like Santa better finish off the shopping, although I am pretty proud of myself getting the majority of it done already. How’s your Christmas shopping going?

 

Merry Christmas from the Moore’s

xx

 

 

Leave a Reply

